My Husband

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Day 29 of 31

My Husband

My girlfriends sometimes
tell me to quit talking
when I speak of my husband
Why?
because he is just that amazing.

In fact, don’t even start
with the slacker stereotypes
about husbands
because I’d be the slacker husband
He runs circles
around me
and the rest of the kids.
Did I say the rest of the kids?
Sadly,
yes.

Taking care of us all–
lunches
driving
trips to the
store
doctor’s office
school
practice.

He takes care of my mom–
When we were dating
I knew he was the one
by the way he took care
of his grandmother
mowing
shopping
at multiple stores
for sales and coupons
fixing things
just being there.

Now he is all about being there
but where am I?
Must–find–time.

Maybe tonight…
blogging early.
there are those papers to grade,
a sick child
soccer practice.

In the busyness of life
I must capture the moments
for this man I adore
who adores me, too.

Maybe tonight I’ll grade,
so the break will be ours,
a family getaway.
Mountains.
cabin.
hot tub
and no
daily slices.

 

3 thoughts on “My Husband

  1. ha! I love this post, especially the ending! Not having to think of an idea to slice and write it will definitely free up time! It gave me a chuckle out loud.

    Like

Leave a comment