20/Happy

Standard

square-imageLast spring my optometrist called the vision I get with contacts 20/Happy explaining to me that to get the reading vision there would be a slight compromise of distance vision and vice versa. This is just reality for me as I age, and I had no choice but to compromise a bit and then figure out what worked best if I wanted to wear contacts.

There was a learning curve in finding 20/Happy. Dr. Mays at TrueVision worked with me for several weeks to help me find contacts that would be comfortable and would allow me to see kids down the hall as well as read the fine print on student rosters. The first pair of lenses didn’t allow me to see the fine print, so he tweaked and adjusted the lenses. The second pair of lenses were not comfortable and made my eyes dry out. Finally, in the end, we found a pair of lenses that did the trick. Yes, 20/Happy was achieved. Perfection wasn’t possible, but the key was we worked together and found what worked best. It helped that he had been through a similar ordeal with his own eyes and could empathize, but in reality, what helped most was that he was positive, patient, and persevering and that he was willing to work with me over several weeks. He also was strategic in that he looked at what didn’t work as he sought to find my 20/Happy place.

Today I want to consider how applying  20/Happy to my world is really important. You see just like my eyes changed my world changes, too. This year, for example, I have 2 new preps, a new grade level of students, a new principal, and new team of teachers for collaboration.

I can’t expect to find my 20/Happy place right away. Even if I have an understanding of what my vision is and am working with amazing people, none of us can expect perfect acuity right away. Finding and maintaining the sharpness of vision and the keenness of thought takes time, positivity, patience, and perseverance; yes, there is a learning curve in finding what works because most of the time I have to work through what doesn’t work in order to find what will work.

And I suppose I should remember that the lenses from which I see the world are far different than the lenses from which others see the world. My perspective is but one perspective and to truly have acuity of vision and thought, it takes people working together with a shared vision, understanding, and compromise.

A few days ago I was cursing the learning curve and thinking that I didn’t have the patience to deal with things not working seamlessly and with my vision not matching reality. I was thinking that I wanted a quick fix, and I didn’t want to have to deal with the learning curve.

Yesterday I thought of my 20/Happy place and the learning curve of finding that place. Yes, patience, perseverance, positivity, and compromise. Perhaps that’s what will help me find the peace of a 20/Happy place. Not perfection of the world as I see it through my lenses, but a world where I allow for compromise and yield to a reality that is much bigger and much less myopic than I am–this is where I am looking outward  as well as inward and seeking keenness of thought and acuity of vision. I suppose I have to be able to see what is close up as well as what is in the distance in finding my 20/Happy place.

Here’s to hoping we all  continue to  accept the learning curve as we seek to find our 20/Happy place in all things.

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “20/Happy

  1. margaretsmn

    I love this new expression 20/happy. I also have to work with 20/happy vision and have a patient optometrist who works with me, but I also see how this theory applies to teaching and changes in our world. We have to adjust our vision and be patient. Thanks for these thoughts today.

    Like

  2. I suspect this phrase will stay with you a long while, Maya, and the application from eyes “seeing” to the “heart” seeing is a good one. Thanks for sharing some wise thoughts we can all learn from.

    Like

  3. Thanks for your response. Adjusting “my” vision to that of others and the world can be difficult, but at least, I’m beginning to get that it’s not “my vision” and “my world.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

