Running From or Running To

Standard

celebrate-image

Webber_advice (1)

This weekend I celebrate binge watching Grey’s Anatomy on Netflix  resulting in a simple yet powerful takeaway about leading others.

As one who follows, I appreciate a leader who recognizes and believes in who I am and what I’m capable of and provides encouragement to help me continue to better myself.

As one who leads, at my best I don’t parent, teach, or mentor with an “or else” attitude. At my best I help people build on what they have as well as their potential.

At my worst, as both leader and follower I tear down others or myself, and like Bailey did in this episode, I set the scene where others and/or myself  are “running from” someone or something instead of “running to” what they can achieve as well as who they can become.

Webber explains that if you want people to run 4 minute miles, you don’t give them something to run from;  you give them something to run to. You  get to know them and let them get to know you, and you show them you believe in them and help them see how and when to use their brains.

Because leaders aren’t all or nothing, I must also realize that as an adult I need to make sure my mindset is focused on what I’m running to more than focused on what I’m running from. So much depends on perspective, mindset, and attitude. So much depends on my takeaway.


Grey’s Anatomy, Season 12, Episode 2  http://www.hulu.com/watch/851628


BAILEY: If this is my first day, then I don’t deserve a second. I wanted it to go…

WEBBER: Perfectly. It won’t. It can’t. This job is too much for one person.

BAILEY: You did it.

WEBBER: Because I listened to those who came before me and counted on those under me.

BAILEY: I tried…

WEBBER: No, you barked like a general. They are generals. They know how to mobilize. What they need is a leader. If I did my job well, it’s not because people listened to me; it’s because they believed in me, believed that I knew them well enough and believed in them enough to tell them how and when to use their brains. I’m talking about people like you.  That kind of belief–you have to earn it, and you cannot earn it in a day. You want someone to run a 4 minute mile. You don’t chase them. You don’t give them something to run from; you give them something to run to.

 

7 thoughts on “Running From or Running To

  1. I remember that episode! I love it when we get the profound from our secret excesses! Always thinking. And reflecting. Thanks for reminding me of these truths. Thanks, Dr. Webber. Thanks, Bailey.

    Like

  2. And now you’ve given a good lesson for all of us, Maya. I love that you did some watching of a favorite show, and took away something for yourself to ponder, wise words.

    Like

  3. Anonymous

    Engaging your audience, Mrs. Woodall? It worked! 😉
    I connect with that look on Bailey’s face; it communicates her “authentic” feelings at that moment (remembering she IS an actress). It’s a look that could reflects my feelings at times, but I try to hide it. Sometimes one has to face reality and deal with it in order to grow. Thanks for this post!

    Like

  4. Thanks, Mrs. McGhee. For all our differences we are a lot alike, too. You’re definitely right we need to face reality and deal with it and grow. I am liking forward to a year of facing reality together.

    Like

  5. I think we find the profound when we seek it and when we are running towards who we can become. Thanks for validating my secret excesses! It is summer time after all, a time of excesses. 🙂

    Like

  6. I’m not a Grey’s Anatomy watcher, but loved your takeaway: To lead effectively, you give others something to run to. You believe in them and provide the vision, so they can provide the steam.

    Like

Leave a Reply

