Anxiety Attack in the Classroom

Standard
11454297503_e27946e4ff_h
Any of my teacher friends ever need a little grounding?  Would you consider trying this?
By the time I finish going through all 12 things on the list, I think I will have forgotten what I was teaching.
Here  is my attempt based on the infographic below.
anxiety.jpg
Not meaning to make fun of anxiety attacks—really, I have been known to have them at times when I’m feeling unprepared or having a less than stellar teaching day.
 
Anxiety Attack in the Classroom?
Here’s what I envision during an evaluation as I try to avoid an anxiety attack by “grounding” myself. I don’t think I would get through all the grounding of my surroundings without losing my focus, but here’s my attempt.
5 Things I can See: 1) posted vocabulary 2) standard/objective 3) an anchor chart 4) my lesson plan notebook 5) some data for differentiation
Adding to anxiety–where did I put the notebook? Is my data current? Should I flip through it? Is that last week’s vocabulary? Aaargh, I meant to change the board!
4 Things I can Touch: 1) The lesson plan notebook I deliver to my visitor 2) The data that I forgot to put in my notebook 3) Hopefully the supplies I need 4) More coffee
Where are those handouts? Aargh, I just had the notebook with my lessons–where did I put it? Oh my gosh, I need another sip of coffee–where did I set the cup down? The remote!!! Has anyone seen my remote?
3 Things I can Hear: 1) The brief yet peaceful sound of silent thinking 2) The excitement of certain learning activities 3) The impulsivity of a “pick me” kid
Oh, the quiet–I love the sound of thinking. How long will this peace last? The words I’ll hear later…Nuts and bolts. Keep it simple. Connect the dots. Too busy. 
2 Things I can Smell: 1) Mr. Marker flavored  scenty markers 2) More coffee
Too much cologne–this is beyond smell–I can taste it. I can’t bring this up. It will disturb the silence. 
1 Thing I can Taste: 1) Dove dark chocolate with funny dark messages
Mmmmm…chocolate.
4 thoughts on “Anxiety Attack in the Classroom

  1. ericamcmo

    I love how you took a prescription for an anxiety attack and not only used it for self-reflection, but also as a systematic prompt for writing. Great tool and lovely honest slice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

