Time on Task: Deliberate

Standard

BEFORE TASK TIMER AND EVENING TASKS

I want to see what I can do this evening to be more deliberate (One Word, OLW)  in my evening tasks. I want to get some things done, but I want to do it without wasting time. I set up tasks using a Google Chrome Extension called Task Timer.

taskI used an app called Task Timer. Now I’m going to see what I can get done in the next hour and a half.


AFTER TASK TIMER AND EVENING TASKS

1 hour and 40 minutes later, I feel good about tonight. I set times and I stuck pretty closely to them. I got my work done, and I will be in bed at an hour that is more reasonable than usual.

Here is how I spent my time:

task_results

Was I deliberate? Yes. It took me a few tasks to realize that I should turn on the volume, so I would hear the warning bing. I wanted to be done at 10:30–it’s now 10:40. Lessons are updated. I have a few more newbie SOL blogs I need to respond to, but I’m going to save that until tomorrow.

My goal: finish my tasks and go to bed before 11. I did better than usual.

Things that threw me off: converting my clipped image from tiff to jpg, emails and messages coming in on my phone and at the top of my computer screen, my daughter saying goodnight a second time, and the dog chomping on her rawhide.

Now I just need to figure out how to add a little R and R into my tasks.

10 minutes–I can be in bed. My body needs more rest. Goodnight.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Time on Task: Deliberate

  1. I think I need to try this app out! Including the screenshot definitely hooked me–I wanted to know if you’d be able to meet those goals or not! I like your analysis/reflection at the end about what threw you off, too.

    P.S. As a newbie, I really appreciate all of your comments! Thank you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

