Reasons, Excuses, Rationalization

Standard

Slice 27 out of 31

 

Slice Daily for the Entire Month of March

March Slice of Life Challenge

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rL9x55YdY5Y

 

excuses

 

I have no excuse, but I haven’t spent much time reading about excuses. Lately, though, I have found listening to excuses quite revealing. Think of all the places you hear excuses:

  • family
  • friends
  • coworkers (from the top down to the bottom)
  • students
  • parents of students
  • retailers
  • servers

 

I’ve begun to laugh at myself and stop myself, but here is what I see now.

Sometimes an excuse is in the guise of an apology, but it turns into a litany of reasons/excuses/rationalizations:  “I’m sorry I didn’t cook dinner, but I was getting ready for my sub, and my neighbor teacher was going to be out, the other said the printer didn’t work…”

Sometimes my excuse is time: “I didn’t have time to [insert item-grade papers, write on my board, send out an email].”  Of course, who catalogs the time I waste each day.

Sometimes my excuse is based on self-perception and lacking the ability to change: “I am a disorganized mess. I have ADD. I can’t focus. I can’t remember.  I’m scattered.”

 

The site from the video linked above has some revealing information about the consequences of excuses, and I have seen these consequences in myself and in others. Of course, I have seen changes in my mindset leading to overcoming some of these consequences.

“Making excuses can also lead to the following consequences:

  • Lack of responsibility and growth
  • Self-limiting beliefs
  • Massive regrets
  • Persistent pessimistic outlook on life
  • Bad judgments
  • Paranoia
  • Imaginary walls constricting comfort zone
  • Mental blocks stifling proactive action and creativity”

Wow—how true!  http://blog.iqmatrix.com/a-life-of-excuses.

The site goes on to explain how to overcome.  I may write about that tomorrow. For now, I will post and call it a night.

 

Blog #posts

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Reasons, Excuses, Rationalization

  1. I have been especially bad about getting things graded. I find LOTS of excuses not to do that. Time to get to work I guess! I really liked this post and that you incorporated so many different things: different formatting, quote, image, source/website, and video. It’s so well rounded!

    Like

  2. crbrunelle

    Yes, I think about how my excuses aren’t truly logical. I didn’t have time to …. sometimes means it wasn’t so important to me that I made time to….

    Like

  3. Excuses can catch us sometimes. Learning to allow ourselves some imperfections can keep some excuses away. Your bullet points allowed me quick reflection.

    Like

Leave a Reply

