Endings that Don’t Suck, Part II

Standard
Slice Daily for the Entire Month of March

March Slice of Life Challenge

Since“Endings that Don’t Suck,”  “Engage It’s all the Rage,” and “Thought Provoking Questions to End a Lesson,”  I’ve been working on creating endings that will promote engagement, deeper levels of thinking, and of course, to do what my principal says is important for a good closing: check for learning/understanding and link to academic vocabulary. Also, I want to do what I know makes a good closing:  promote reflection, encourage collaboration/participation, and foster engagement. So far, I have created a bank of random questions that tie to the standard/learning. This bank of questions is programmed to display randomly when the URL comes up.  I’m bored by the questions and plan to add more and give them a “turn and talk” or partner option to them. This way each group/pair will scan the code, and work together to answer the question. This will give all students the opportunity to think about what they’ve learned independently and with a partner/group before I have some students share. When I’ve made this randomizer share-worthy, I will post it here.

The other random question making site I am working on with help from a student. The student is actually plugging the questions into Editey, an html/java/CSS thing hosted on Google Drive, and then, he’s pulling the randomizer URL to create a QR code for me to use with closing my lessons.

This young man has been coming to my homeroom and teaching himself how to do this. I knew I had found a true tech king when I saw this boy was packing his own own wireless mouse to use in the computer lab. He watched the video my Techeds leader made for me, he tried out Editey, and he made me my very first QR randomizer.

Since that day, he’s been asking me twice a day for more questions so he can make my vocabulary randomizer. Tonight he sent me an email to remind me. The young man is like my administrative assistant helping me prioritize important tech tasks. Now if I could just have a few more of students like this in each class, I would be a force to be reckoned with.

Below are the questions I sent my tech king to use for my vocabulary randomizer. To create these, I scoured Google, looked at my vocabulary resources, and thought about Marzano’s AV steps. Then, I thought long and hard about what types of vocabulary questions could be effectively and generically used, what questions would be at least a level 2 DOK, what questions/tasks would promote engagement, and what questions could involve student collaboration, and finally what questions would demonstrate understanding of terms.

When my tech assistant is done, I will share the the QR code (on this post and on the other). This way if you respond to this post or if you responded to the other QR Closing post, you will get the QR code when I have it.  By the way, here is where the QR closing idea was born:  http://learninginhand.com/blog/random-messages-and-links.

PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF YOU HAVE OTHER QUESTIONS RELATED TO VOCABULARY YOU THINK I SHOULD ADD. ALSO, LET ME KNOW IF YOU THINK ANYTHING BELOW SHOULD BE TWEAKED.

THE QUESTIONS 

  • Describe the vocabulary terms to your neighbor using in your own words. See if your neighbor can name the term, or add to your explanation.
  • Explain to your neighbor how the vocabulary terms are used in everyday language and how they apply to your world.
  • With your neighbor, come up with a list of important attributes, characteristics, or essential information about the vocabulary terms.
  • Give examples and non-examples of the vocabulary terms.
  • Make two truths and a lie for an academic vocabulary term. Test your answer out on the class.
  • Give a real life application of how you might use the vocabulary term in your life now or in your life later.
  • Write a test question for the academic vocabulary term. Have your neighbor answer the question.
  • Compare and contrast the vocabulary term with a previously learned term. Make a Double bubble Map or a Venn Diagram.
  • Make a web/bubble map that shows the vocabulary term with its essential characteristics.
  • Draw a picture that helps you understand the vocabulary term. Share out with the class by playing dictionary and drawing the term.
  • Apply Marzano’s levels of understanding to the vocabulary terms. If you do not understand the term well, write a few questions. If you do understand the term, devise a way to teach the term to the class in 1 minute.
  • Group words related to today’s or recent academic vocabulary terms. Read the related words to the class, and see if we can guess the term.
  • What word parts (prefixes, suffixes, root word)  will help you remember the vocabulary term? Explain how this breakdown will help you understand the term.
  • What do you still find confusing about the vocabulary term?
  • Apply the vocabulary term to a new context. Explain this to your neighbor.
  • Tell your neighbor about confusion you still have about the vocabulary term. See if your neighbor can clear up your misunderstanding.
  • Identify any antonyms or synonyms for the vocabulary terms.
  • Explain how the term is used in other subject areas, and compare and contrast that use to the use in our class.
  • List confusions people sometimes have with our recent vocabulary terms.
  • Pair and share what you know about the term that you didn’t know before.
  • Pair and share questions or applications of recent vocabulary terms.
  • Sketch and share a visual to help remember recent vocabulary ter​ms.
  • You and your partner have 3 minutes and a whiteboard to teach this term to the class. Think of how you would do this. Approach a small whiteboard with a marker when you’re ready.

I am excited about trying out this closing and tweaking the other. Most of all, I’m excited to try and have an ending that pops instead of an ending that fizzles.

6 thoughts on “Endings that Don’t Suck, Part II

  1. Wow–those questions sound amazing. You are pushing me to think about how I can step up my endings. Thank you so much for sharing your ideas. And how lucky to have found such a helpful student! I’ll bet that his experience of helping you is pretty significant for him, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

