Perspective

Standard

Here is my sestina with the following words:  challenge, life, obstacle, grow, perspective, choice.  Want to make your own sestina? Go here.

Slice Daily for the Entire Month of March

March Slice of Life Challenge

Perspective (Day 1 of 31)

Am I up for March’s challenge,
A daily slice to fuel or frenzy my life?
No time, no topic, no words—I can view slicing as an obstacle
Or I can slay the dragons in my life, words to help me grow
Not to be controlled by my frenzied perspective,
Fueled or frenzied by each slice, I make the choice.

Inside the walls of my school there, too, I make the choice
Of how I approach each daily challenge.
Stepping into my classroom with a new perspective
Letting go of what controlled my life.
What I once saw as an obstacle
is a new opportunity to grow.

Nurturing others to help them grow,
Each day I make the choice.
Helping them see beyond each obstacle
Connecting the dots to meet each challenge
An obstacle need not be an enemy in life
It’s all about perspective.

Years it took to gain perspective
of what I need to do to grow
Letting things control my life
was a fatalistic choice
that made each daily challenge
A road to wreckage or an impenetrable obstacle.

Still I need to find my way around my biggest obstacle
Finding ways to seek new perspective.
Prioritizing tasks is my greatest challenge,
A place I need to grow
Get things done by making the right choice
so I have time to live my life.

Teaching is my passion and my life
That, too, can be my greatest obstacle.
Because when I chase ideas, I make the choice
to lose time with family, a skewed perspective,
stunting the biggest part of me that needs to grow.
Living a balanced life is my challenge.

Seeing things anew in this life—I’ve gained perspective.
Each obstacle is just a way to grow.
I make the choice of how to pursue each challenge.

2 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. I loved this stanza:
    Nurturing others to help them grow,
    Each day I make the choice.
    Helping them see beyond each obstacle
    Connecting the dots to meet each challenge
    An obstacle need not be an enemy in life
    It’s all about perspective.

    This reflects the fact that SOLSC isn’t just about ourselves… it’s about community.

    Glad you’re back, Maya!

    Like

Leave a Reply

