Part II: From Pissing on My Vision to Revising my Vision to Re-envisioning my Vision

Standard

I’m a language arts teacher, so the irony of my well envisioned success down to the outfit I would wear was not lost on me. Irony is funny. The comments–puns, humor, anecdotes those helped me to laugh at my day’s beginning.

Yet today because of the absurdity of a vision obscured by dog piss–I just took that moment and laughed at myself in that moment. WhenI left my sacred book of notes and to dos at home this AM, I laughed again and turned around. I went home said hello to the dog, grabbed my book and left. When I got in my car, I decided I needed to hear that song “I Get Knocked Down” because I thought hearing the part about “pissing the night away” would make me laugh. On the way to work, I played that song a few times thankful I was not Danny boy and decided I better stick to my coffee drink.

Before my meeting, I talked to a coworker and told her the story of my morning and was still able to laugh.  At the meeting talking about the energy bus, I was mostly silent and just listened to others sharing (this is unusual for me), but I enjoyed just being in the moment and hearing about other people’s ideas and responses to first part of the book.

Then, the blog comments started coming in, and I glanced at them and continued to let myself move in the right direction.

I had a quick conversation with my principal about this whole vision thing from the energy bus and about how my friend Anni used create a vision for the next day and then envision herself making it all happen as she drifted to sleep. Anni got a lot accomplished while here on earth. She was very successful and did so much for so many people. Of course, my vision was not what I envisioned this morning, but I made the choice to not do what I sometimes do—look at the negative in a bad situation and continue the doomsday scenario.

Instead what I envisioned did not come to fruition. The day went by, and I did not get accomplished what I wanted to accomplish. I had meetings before, during, and after school. A student’s parent visited the school and took my time. I was late getting home, arriving after the family had eaten.

Still, though, today was good.  Even though the teacher who I thought made me copies did not, a helpful coworker helped me out to make copies. Even thought I didn’t finish my lesson today, the jigsawing of mentor texts went well in my classes with kids reading what interested them. Even though my work day had meetings before, during, and after school, the meetings were all positive–I even won 2nd place playing Kahoot and received a prize at the end of the meeting. Even though I was just one point away from first place (grrrrr…), I still received a prize. Even though I didn’t want to be out of class, another teacher took care of my class for a moment, so I could talk with a parent, with the conversation being exactly what needed to happen.  Even though I arrived home late–again, my husband wasn’t mad at me (maybe because he’s going out tomorrow). Even though everything was not accomplished, some of it was and that is good enough.

What worked to keep me on course?

  1. Laughter at myself and the situation
  2. Conversation with friends (live and in the blogosphere)
  3. Rolling with whatever came my way today
  4. Keeping in mind that the course the day takes is up to me
  5. Trying to stay focused on the vision while not beating myself up for not accomplishing all I set out to do

There may have been a lake of dog urine on the floor that could have potentially set me off course for the rest of the day. At times I did veer off course; however, I didn’t beat myself up or allow myself to stay frustrated. Perhaps realizing life’s vision requires the same sort of revision that writing requires (ha–maybe not so much here on the blog). As stuff happens and we get knocked down–we get back up–we move on and try to re-navigate ourselves back on course. We step back and re-envision where we’re going, and we make adjustments to get back on course.

Leave a Reply

