Still I Blog

Standard

Dedicated to my Absent Muse

My apologies to Maya Angelou

You may leave me when I need you most
With my uninspired mind,
You may run and hide when I type
But still, like a Disney dog, I’ll blog.

Does my sassiness upset you?
Why are you beset with gloom?
‘Cause I write like I’ve got another muse
Hanging in my living room.

Just like all the others
Persevering at Two Writing Teachers,
Just like a kid beating on a desk,
Still I’ll blog.

Did you want to see me broken?
Shamed and postless writer?
Crying and commentless,
Hiding the tears in my eyes?

Does my haughtiness offend you?
Don’t you take it awful hard
‘Cause I laugh like I’ve got a new muse,
Typin’ words on my blog.

You may make me devoid of words,
You may desert me in hard times,
You may seize my inspiration,
But still, like a Disney dog, I’ll blog.

Does my wordiness upset you?
Does it come as a surprise
That I write like I’ve got Angelou
Dictating all my lines?

Out of the doldrums of the day
I blog
Up from a muse that’s forgotten my name
I blog
I’m the tapping machine, putting it all out there
Building something I’m compelled to share.

Leaving behind nights of anguish I share
I blog
Into a daybreak when April is here.
I blog
Bringing to you the burdens I bear.
I am the thoughts of others typing out there.
I blog.
I blog.
I blog.

One thought on “Still I Blog

  1. I love this. And it represents what I think a lot of us feel and think as we get near the finish of March. What a growing experience for all of us! We are nearly there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

