Slice of Me

Standard

My forlorn blog,

you have been neglected–

Life is too busy.

Tuesdays aren’t good for me.

I don’t have energy to write.

I make excuses.

Today  (well, yesterday now) I wrote–

I modeled an essay beginning,

I wrote for a few minutes with KMWP people,

I drafted a few emails–one amused me.

I typed the department orders in a spreadsheet,

I typed the spelling bee winners in a chart,

And now, blog, what do you want from me?

You want a slice of my life, too.

Who do you think you are–

You want a slice of me??!!??

 

My husband is in bed, alone.

It’s 12:40 AM.

I’m tired.

I am out of slices.

I need a few more slices in life’s pie.

Just take a knife to me–

cut off another piece,

Parcel out another portion of me.

The slices of my life

are sliced too thinly.

What more can I give?

What words can I write?

This teacher writer

will have to jostle the dormant writer

from hibernation

before she teaches next summer’s

Writing Project

or else

she will be living a writing lie.

Please have another slice–

there’s more of me.

There’s less of me.

I don’t know anymore.

Goodnight.

Good morning.

It’s all the same–

Is that the alarm?

I just fell asleep.

A new day arrives–

and I offer up

Another slice of life.

2 thoughts on “Slice of Me

  1. It sounds like the pie of life is filled to the brim. Take a deep breath and don’t worry about doing it all. I hope you get some rest during the holiday break Maya.

    Like

Leave a Reply

