An Exhausting Endeavor

Standard

I just want to get it all out
and tell you what it’s all about.

Alas, my thoughts are buried inside;
perhaps that’s where they ought to reside.

Can I let go of judging words, so they lose their power?
And continue to bridge relationships so they don’t sour?

Trying to be the peacemaker and keep us all together–
what an exhausting endeavor.

We should all see things from each other’s view,
not throwing hands in the air saying we’re through.

We have different ideas of what is right–
this is no reason to bicker and fight.

I try to keep us all together–
maybe this is just another storm to weather.

3 thoughts on “An Exhausting Endeavor

  1. Paul

    It’s interesting how rhymed couplets, such a short and focused unit, can have an effect on what you’re writing. You’ll have to shed the “meandering” moniker if you keep this up! 🙂

    Like

  2. My meandering usually takes me to a destination–I just don’t know where I’m going until I get there. I like to “meander”. Plus, it make for a nice alliterative blog title…

    Like

Leave a Reply

