Aside

sols_6

18 out of 31

Sarah and I were laughing as we tried to read all the tongue-twisters in Fox in Socks.

“Who sees who sew whose new socks, sir?

You see Sue sew Sue’s new socks, sir.”

We couldn’t seem to get the lines out, stumbling–

“Who sees–”

Laughter

“You saw See so Sue’s–”

Giggling

And again and again…

Then, five-year-old Sarah got all serious and said, “Laughing makes you live longer.”

“Yes, it does. Where did you hear that?”

She told me the boy next door told her. The boy next door whose dad drove into a tree a few summers ago and died. I wonder if his dad didn’t laugh enough. I wonder if he really believes that anything will make a person live longer. I wonder if he holds onto that belief or if he just says it because it’s one of those sayings. I wonder if my little girl thinks that maybe the boy next door knows something about life, since he knows something about death.

Enough meandering…it’s bedtime. I hear that sleeping helps you live longer–why is it I never listen to that advice?

Maybe my tongue twisting laughing with Sarah will make up for my short night of sleep.

Enough Meandering,

Maya

 


					
7 thoughts on “

  1. alwriting

    Maya, this piece contains elements of humor, genuine poignancy and a child’s insight beyond their years. Well captured. This piece replicates the essence of what life is about.

    Like

  2. margaretsmn

    One of the things that makes me laugh most is when words are mixed up or twisted. Then such a profound meandering of thought. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. I think she found comfort in your laughter; feeling like YOU will live longer makes her feel safe… she’s basing it on the neighbor kid’s loss and standards–cause she believes he “knows.” She’s looking for the affirmation in what you do, what you say. I think it’s a celebration that she shared that thought with you and allowed you to affirm her. You probably eased her fears/worries… as moms and laughter will do.

    Like

  4. Paul

    You control the shift in tone at the center of this piece with great skill. It just happens, so naturally. Great little piece. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

