Peace and Perspective

Standard

11 of 31

sols_6

After spending a weekend being bothered by something out of my control, this morning I said a prayer and decided to try and let it go. Immediately, the St. Francis prayer came to mind offering me peace and perspective. My thoughts, as I remember them are boldface and interlinear.

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace;

I should let go of myself and my feelings of being judged in this situation and let God in.

where there is hatred, let me sow love;

Don’t worry about being judged or disliked–just try to love the other person.

when there is injury, pardon;

Let it go, Maya. Forgive.

where there is doubt, faith;

You should keep your peace and faith about you, Maya, and not let yourself get so bogged down by what others think.


where there is despair, hope;

Who knows what has taken the other person to the place where she is? I should be a positive and hopeful presence.


where there is darkness, light;
and where there is sadness, joy.

You can do this, Maya. Shed light. Share joy.


Grant that I may not so much seek
to be consoled as to console;
to be understood, as to understand,
to be loved as to love;

Maya, think of all those people close to you who offer you consolation, understanding, and love. Maya,, know that you are understood and loved. If some don’t offer you understanding and love, know they are probably in need of understanding and love and consolation. Be that presence.


for it is in giving that we receive,

Give to those for whom giving is difficult. Love those who are a struggle to love.
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,

Forgive. Forgive now. Let it go.

and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.

Let go of yourself. Die to yourself. Move on. Be an instrument of peace.

I enjoy the Talbot version of this song. I listened to it during my drive time this AM.

In spite of the migraine returning, I was able to let go (for the most part) and find peace.

3 thoughts on “Peace and Perspective

  1. margaretsmn

    I love this prayer and that you could apply it to a difficult situation. I hope you continue to find a path of peace and sow love, not resentment.

    Like

  2. Paul

    Release is much more healthy and serene than anger, but sometimes we have to move through the anger to get there. On a more technical/teacher note, call-and-response with a song or poem would be a sweet writing exercise for kids, wouldn’t it? Thanks for sparking an idea– 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

