Longing

Standard

Image

Writing with a Bunch of Teachers

Hosted by Two Writing Teachers

Slicing Every Day of March

Slice 3 of 31

I spent the night with my mom last night, so I could host a Stella and Dot trunk show at my mom’s house unencumbered by small children running around. Spending the night with Mom always leaves me with a longing feeling–longing for Dad to be there. His presence is all through the house leaving me nostalgic for the good old days. 

  • The small urn on the mantle that holds a few remaining ashes
  • Underwater photos from his scuba diving days
  • A photo of Dad at Starbucks (his favorite hangout)
  • A photo of Dad’s last birthday, a kid party with a Nemo cake, pinata, pizza, and fun with the kids
  • Half of Mom’s bed unoccupied
  • Mom’s painting of the family (see the family portrait below–yes, we are all fish–Dad the biggest one)
  • The office devoid of Dad’s clutter
  • Places where he sat
  • Memories of places he sat, the place where he died, 
  • The droning of Fox News that continues in spite of his absence

I guess, though, the hardest part is seeing the longing in Mom, the absence of her true love. Even though she goes on with her life as she continues to paint, exercise, socialize, and live, I feel the absence of part of her in the little things she says and does. 

Years go by, yet the longing doesn’t subside. Still, as a grown up, lying in the room across the hall I, too, long after all these years to be Daddy’s little girl. 

Image

 

 

6 thoughts on “Longing

  1. macrush53

    I could feel your longing and sadness in this. It reminded me of my dad. In the final year of his life he really missed my mom. How fortunate you are to still have a parent. Thank you for sharing this, a tribute to a parent loved and missed.

    Like

  2. Jaana

    Thank you for sharing! I have read at least 3 posts today that made me think of my parents. One has been gone for 25 years, but the memories are still there to be treasured!

    Like

  3. scoutgardner

    I’m so glad I happened across your blog, Maya… 🙂 Thank you for sharing this story of memories of your father… and your love and understanding for your mother and what she has gone through. It helps me to appreciate every minute I’ve had with my parents.

    Like

  4. No matter how old or how grown up we are supposed to be, parents, strong and wise in the background of our lives, are a foundation that supports us. Hold tight to those memories and to you mom – and to those littles ones – too.

    Like

  5. This is a beautiful remembrance of your father. I could feel your longing and love for him, and your mother’s painting is beautiful. How lucky you all have been to have had him in your lives … which, of course, is why his absence is felt so keenly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

